Vintage Springer

Desktop

Mitglied
Hi!

I'm new to this great forum and this is my first post. Unfortunately, I'm not fluent enough to write in German so I hope English is OK!

I have this Springer that my father bought in Sweden. It has somewhat different tang stamps compared to the Springers usually found here in the US. The front tang is stamped "STAINLESS" and the rear tang is stamped "IMPORT". I suspect the knife was made by BONSA in the late 50s or early 60s. I was wondering if this knife was exported to Sweden? If not, what other European country did 'import' this knife from Germany? I was hoping forum members have some more information about this knife. I've never seen this particular combination of stamps before. They're definitely not common!
Thanks!

Springer_Stainless_S_01.jpg

Springer_Stainless_S_03.jpg

Springer_Stainless_S_04.jpg

Springer_Stainless_S_05.jpg

Springer_Stainless_S_06.jpg

Springer_Stainless_S_07.jpg

Springer_Stainless_S_08.jpg

hi, i think that this springer is an - Hubertus -from Solingen -i have one bought in Vienna 7-8 years ago new in a shop best reg. karl

….Springer
… front tang is stamped "STAINLESS"
… rear tang is stamped "IMPORT".
… I've never seen this particular combination of stamps before. They're definitely not common!

You surely are right that such marking of German made knives definitively is not common if exported by the maker to a customer in Great Britain or the U.S., or if made for Germany!

Marking knives with the country of origin, such as MADE IN PRUSSIA or MADE IN GEMRANY, was caused first by Britain’s Merchandise Marks Act in 1887, and by the U.S. soon after in order to protect domestic products.

Anyway you are stating
… (that …) this Springer … (was) … bought in Sweden. …